Comparison table
SHSAT Prep is our product, so we list it with the same columns as everyone else and link every other provider's page in the sources below. Prices change often. Check each site before you buy.
| Option | Price as listed | Full-length practice exams | Adaptive practice | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Official NYCPS practice tests and tutorial | Free | 4 (grade 8), plus 2 grade 9 math mini forms | Not stated | Every student, first |
| SHSAT Prep (shsatprep.com) | $19 per month or $149 per year per student, or $24.99 per exam | Multiple, in the digital format | No, fixed-form | Repeated full-length digital exams with instant review |
| Caddell Prep On-Demand SHSAT Course | $299 for 12 months (the enroll button shows $499) | 3 | No, fixed-form | Self-paced video lessons and a large problem bank |
| SHSATlab Student Plan | $19.99 per month per child, 7-day free trial | 4 | Yes, per the site | Adaptive skill practice with an AI tutor |
| SHS Prep (shsprep.com) | $34 per month, or $99 or $169 one-time | 10 | Not stated | Many digital mock exams at a one-time price |
| TestPrepSHSAT SHSAT Academy Pro | $19.99 to $34.99 for 12 months; tutoring extra | Not stated | Yes, per the site | Low-cost self-study plus group tutoring |
| Kaplan New York City SHSAT Prep 2026 (book) | $24.99 list price | 3 | Not stated | A print study guide |
| Study.com SHSAT course | $59.99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Video lessons within a broader subscription |
| Kweller Prep group courses | $1,450 to $3,300 per course | Not stated | Not stated | Live small-group classes |
| The Princeton Review private tutoring | $1,800 for 10 hours, $2,700 for 18 hours | 2 | Not stated | Packaged one-on-one tutoring |
How to choose
Every student should use the official NYCPS Student Readiness Tool and the four official practice tests, which are free and run on the real testing platform. Most students run out of official tests long before they run out of things to fix.
After that, decide what is actually missing. If the student needs more full-length digital exams to measure progress, pick a platform with several full-length tests in the digital format. If they need to learn content from scratch, video lessons or a class help more. If they need someone to watch their work and correct habits, a tutor is the expensive but direct option.
- Needs more full-length practice: SHSAT Prep, SHS Prep, or SHSATlab.
- Needs lessons and a problem bank: Caddell Prep or Study.com.
- Needs a teacher: a group class or a tutor.
- On a tight budget: the official tests, plus a library copy of a prep book.
Adaptive practice versus fixed-form practice
The fall 2026 SHSAT is computer-adaptive: question difficulty changes as the student answers. Some products, including SHSATlab, TestPrepSHSAT, and PREPThub, say their practice is adaptive. Others, including SHSAT Prep and Caddell Prep, use fixed-form exams.
Neither approach copies the official scoring engine, which NYCPS has not published. Fixed-form exams let families compare scores across the same kind of test. Adaptive practice can target weak skills faster. The official practice tests remain the closest look at the real platform.
Watch for similar names
Several unrelated products use similar names. The SHSAT Prep apps on the App Store and Google Play come from a separate developer (listed as Smart Tutors and ASVAB Tutoring) and are not related to shsatprep.com. The domain shsatpreponline.com redirects to PREPThub, a separate company.
SHS Prep at shsprep.com is also a separate product. If you are comparing prices or reading reviews, check the website address so you know which product you are looking at.
Paper books and older tests
Prep books are useful for content review and are often available at public libraries. Check the edition: some popular SHSAT books were written for the paper exam and do not cover the digital question types or the rule that most questions cannot be revisited.
Older NYCPS handbooks also contain paper practice tests. Use them for content, and use digital practice for timing, tools, and format.
Official sources
SHSAT policies and digital testing details can change. Confirm current information with NYC Public Schools:
- NYC SHSAT Portal practice tests page
- NYCPS SHSAT overview
- Caddell Prep On-Demand SHSAT Course
- SHSATlab pricing
- SHS Prep
- TestPrepSHSAT membership levels
- Kaplan SHSAT books
- Study.com SHSAT course
- Kweller Prep SHSAT prep
- The Princeton Review SHSAT tutoring
- SHSAT Prep app on the App Store (separate developer)
- PREPThub
SHSAT Prep is an independent practice product and is not affiliated with NYCPS.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best SHSAT prep website?
Start with the free official NYCPS practice tests and tutorial. For more practice, choose based on the gap: full-length digital exams, video lessons, adaptive skill practice, or tutoring.
Is shsatprep.com the same as the SHSAT Prep app?
No. The SHSAT Prep apps on the App Store and Google Play come from a separate developer. shsatprep.com is an independent web platform built by Eric Wiener.
How much does SHSAT prep cost?
From free (official NYCPS tests) to about $20 to $60 a month for online platforms, about $25 for a book, and $1,450 or more for classes or tutoring packages.
Continue your study plan
Every free digital SHSAT practice option in one place: the official NYCPS tutorial, four official practice tests, the 2027 guide, and a free sample.
Next guideUsing Paper SHSAT Books for a Digital ExamPaper books can still teach content. They cannot train digital tools, no-return navigation, or adaptive item selection. Use each format for the job it can do.
Next guideSHSAT Practice Tests: How to Use ThemUse official NYCPS tests first, then independent digital exams. Review the same day. Do not sit another full test until the last one changed the work.